The book I read to research this post was Blog Design For Dummies by Melissa Culbertson which is an excellent book which I read at http://safaribooksonline.com

Steve Jobs the former boss at Apple once said that good design isn’t just about how something looks, it’s also about how something works. If you think about something like the iphone or ipod you will see what he means. It’s the same with a blog and I know a lot of my blogs have a basic design which is why I thought I’d read this. Many web designers use heat maps to help decide where everything goes on a web page. We know the average person decides within 3 seconds whether they like a website or blog. In the western world they tend to look to the left which is probably because we read from the left to the right. Therefore information like an about page secition, some featured posts, and maybe author information will tend to be on the left. A heat map is a map of where a person tends to look in the first few seconds of arriving on a page. The page has to be easy to navigate and if it is a business should have information like business address and prices displayed prominently. The colours on the site should be coordinated. There’s a website called Kuler owned by Adobe that has swatches that can be imported into programs like illustrator and photoshop that help with this colour coordination. Another thing particularly with blogs is themes and if you have a wordpress blog a free one they recommend is thesis which I am considering having for my blogs on that site. There are also widgets although you do find many of these are for the self hosted version. There is also the issue of importing fonts and if you go http://typekit.com which is also owned by Adobe you can get fancy websafe fonts. Another issue is photos for which they recommend a free program called picmonkey among others.  There is also dabbling in CSS & HTML which if you use WordPress you must purchase the extended version to do. There is also a lot in this book on Blogger & Tumblr which are also very popular. It’s a really good book I enjoyed reading & I learned a lot from it.

Comments
  1. minecraft says:

    Do you have any video of that? I’d like to find out some additional
    information.

  2. Appreciating the time and energy you put into your website and detailed information you provide.
    It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while
    that isn’t the same unwanted rehashed material. Great read!
    I’ve saved your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my
    Google account.

  3. Hi to every one, it’s genuinely a pleasant for me to pay a visit this web
    page, it includes useful Information.

  4. Hey! Would you mind if I share your blog with my zynga
    group? There’s a lot of folks that I think would really appreciate
    your content. Please let me know. Cheers

  5. Hello it’s me, I am also visiting this website regularly, this website is truly nice and the visitors are in fact sharing fastidious thoughts.

  6. google says:

    Oh my goodness! Amazing article dude! Thank you, However I am
    encountering issues with your RSS. I don’t
    know why I cannot subscribe to it. Is there anybody getting the same RSS problems?
    Anyone who knows the solution will you kindly respond? Thanx!!

  7. Hi my loved one! I want to say that this article is amazing, nice written and include approximately all significant infos.
    I’d like to look extra posts like this .

  8. With havin so much written content do you ever run into any problems
    of plagorism or copyright violation? My blog has a lot of completely
    unique content I’ve either created myself or outsourced but it looks like a lot of
    it is popping it up all over the internet without my agreement.
    Do you know any techniques to help protect against content from being stolen? I’d
    genuinely appreciate it.

  9. Thanks for sharing your info. I truly appreciate your efforts and I am waiting for your next post thanks
    once again.

  10. I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your site.

    It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me
    to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a developer to create your
    theme? Superb work!

Leave a comment